Unlocking the imaginations of the young and young at heart

Primary Education

In the UK Primary Schools cater for the educational needs of children aged from 5 to 11. In England and Wales primary schools will be split into infants (from ages 5 to 7 or 8) and juniors (aged 11 or 12), however in Scotland and Northern Ireland there is no separate distinction.

Primary education covers the following years:

Reception (ages 4 to 5)

Year 1 (ages 5 to 6)

Year 2 (ages 6 to 7) Key Stage 1 SAT testing

Year 3 (ages 7 to 8)

Year 4 (ages 8 to 9)

Year 5 (ages 9 to 10)

Year 6 (ages 10 to 11) Key Stage 2 SAT Testing

The main objective of primary education is to achieve basic literacy and numeracy for all pupils in addition to providing a foundation for other subjects such as science, mathematics and history.